Making Good

Gosh, I have to admit, I have been very lazy at blogging. Other things somehow just took priority and grabbed me of my time these days. I am glad that I can come back to blogging about something I am really passionate about – cherishing Mother Earth!
These are two cheap IKEA pieces in my house now. I know, IKEA items really don’t last sometimes, but with those prices, what unreasonable expectations shall we have right?

The adjustable table has a small story behind it. My maternal grandmother used to stay with us every few weeks and the old lady must have her all her meals with her dosage of television! Hence, my sis brought this back home one day so that this can be made Grandma’s table. Well, sometimes, when we got careless, we forgot to place newspaper on top of the table, and the heat from the bottom of the bowl and plate (after numerous times) caused many ‘bubble’ to develop on the ‘sawdust’ board table top. The surface was uneven and it looked really bad.

Eventually, Grandma could no longer move around, and she no longer came to stay with us. This became my iPad reading table. So, I thought why not make it look really nice, and since I work with fabric quite a lot, I decided to add fabric to the table top! Since there were bumps, I took a piece of old mattress topper, cut it to shape and lay it over before I used a staple gun to staple the colorful cloth over. The bottom of the table certainly doesn’t look so neat, but it was my first staple gun ‘artwork’ so I guess it is not so bad? I think there are improvements to be made, but for now… there’s no more items at home that are available for my modification practice.

As for the chair, it had stains on the sitting surface that are no longer possible to remove, so I just unscrew the 4 nails and stapled over the same colorful cloth over the cushion part. Then, I screw the 4 nails back, and voila, same chair new look and no more stains.

      

My projects are usually simple because my hands aren’t that agile, and my skills really not that good. But I guess it only goes to show everyone can at least try on making good? 🙂

Thank you Kareena for introducing me, and next up we have Vicky, based in UK, who owns a really creative Etsy Store that has handmade handbags, bags and purses, often with a focus on eco friendly.

Do follow through the Making Good Blog Train and get inspired on repairing/up-cycling tips! With every bit of effort, we can only make our earth a better place for every one.

This post is part of a blog train hosted by Agatha from Green Issues by Agy on “Making Good”. What is repair, and why do we even bother to repair the things we have? Some see repair as a way of reconnecting with our possessions as we extend their lives. Others see it as a form of creative potential and an avenue to express their craft. The rewards for mending varies from feeling immense satisfaction to prolonging the life of the product. Follow the “Making Good” blog train this month and see what we have repaired and reconnected with. Have you mended anything today?

9 thoughts on “Making Good

  1. love the fabric choice! so bright, energetic and cheery :). Awesome idea do match the table and chair too. Looks to me like you did a bang up job and I hope you enjoy using both for a long time to come!

Leave a Reply

