I DIDNT THROW IT AWAY

I annoy my family quite a bit with my ‘waste not, want not’ principle in life; and I am quite a recycling fanatic that I made an effort to train up my parents to do so before I moved out of our home into my hubby’s place. To me, it is as simple as creating the smallest waste/carbon footprint that I will leave behind on this earth. I am also looking forward to fast tracking my minimalist lifestyle once we move into our new home in 2 years’ time.

Thank you Agy from Green Issues by Agy for getting me to join this blog train series on why I didn’t throw something away. Below are two things that I have kept for more than 20 years:

1) Handcrafted Stainless Steel Rack

IMG_9024

My Pa’s 3rd Brother, my 三伯 (3rd Uncle), was once a steel craftsman. When my parents first got married, they had little and lived in rented places and Ama’s Kampung place until I was about 4 or 5 years old. When they finally got their own flat, 3rd Uncle handcrafted this 100% stainless steel rack, together with a similar steel mini cabinet, for our new flat. The rack had since then been installed in our toilet.

In 2010, my parents decided to do some renovation to our house, and everyone decided it was time to discard this rack. Chinese are quite annoying sometimes, new houses equates many new things. The concept of vintage or sentimental value hardly exists. I protested big time because it was such a well designed and beautiful rack and it would be very hard to get anything close to this. Looking back, I am so glad I persisted. This beauty still lives in our house, serving its purpose. Before I got married off, I gave it several nice washes and it is as shiny as 20 years before.

2) Gold Ball Earstuds

IMG_9023-0

I just wore this pair of earstuds last week and my Mommy was surprised I still have these, after a long 20 years. When I was 8 or 9 years old, my Ma brought me to this goldsmith at Beauty World 美世界 and let me have my ears pierced. Back in those days, it cost $20 – $30 to get our ears pierced with a choice of gold studs. We kept those gold studs on for about a month until the wound healed, and for the years on, it was all fashionable accessories that came and go (although I don’t even have those anymore haha!)

All these years, I kept this pair of gold ball earstuds aside, because they held so much sentimental value for me. And somehow, as one gets older, classic designs grow on you and I have taken a new liking to the earrings and have started wearing them again. Coincidentally I saw something similiar when I was shopping for 四点金 in Poh Heng and it now costs a good $90 already (due to gold price inflation). Doubly glad I kept this pair of small trinkets so well he he.

In this buy and throw society we currently live in, do you ever ask yourself what is the true value that lies in something you had yesterday and something that you are getting tomorrow? I like to believe that, if we take the effort to appreciate and take good care of something we have, then we will be better and more contented beings in this life.

This post is part of a blog train hosted by Agatha from Green Issues by Agy on “I Didn’t Throw It Away”. We have become such a throw-away society, but there are some things in our households that we still keep. Why is that so? Perhaps this blog train can unlock the reasons behind it! Follow the daily posts on this blog train and read about the stories behind the things we have kept for many years and why we didn’t throw them away.

Tomorrow Christine from Rhinestic’s Knick Knacks will sharing her story too! Christine has always loved creating. She could be sewing a dress one day, and doodling the next. However, she is deeply inspired by Scandinavian and Japanese artworks as well as steampunk aesthetics. Through her blog, she hope to share more about her crafts further on our little red dot!

7 thoughts on “I DIDNT THROW IT AWAY

  1. Well done for saving the stainless steel rack – it still looks brand new! I must add that the craftsmanship looks fabulous. I think if we will value our possessions more if we take the time to care for them. Thank you for joining the blog train 🙂

  2. I second Ago – that rack is beautiful! And it has a story. As I read all the posts in this lovely series I keep thinking about the value of story and association. “Things” become so much more than just things when we know their stories.

Leave a Reply

