Impermanence

Throwback to end Mar whereby I wrote about impermanence –

Tomorrow, I will be jetting off to somewhere 4 hours away for a holiday with my family.

In light of the recent MH370 incident, we can only remind ourselves on a daily basis to feel blessed, be contented and be grateful for whatever we have, despite the fears deep in my heart about flying, about leaving my little comfort zone. I am that unadventurous. But, I am grateful to be taking a holiday with my loved ones, and I will commit to having fun and creating wonderful memories with them.

I’m bringing along with me Sri Sri Ravi Shankar ’25 Ways To Improve Your Life’ to read aboard the flight there. Interestingly, this was purchased at the Bombay Airport last November during my very last work trip for a company I used to work for.

I end with an excerpt of Sri Sri Ravi Shankar’s article:

See the impermanence in this life.

Millions of years have passed and millions more will come. Nothing is permanent. In this broad, universal context, what is your life? It is not even a drop in the ocean.

Just open your eyes, and ask, “Who am I? Why am I on this planet? What is my lifetime?”

An awareness dawns, and you will stop worrying about little things. All smallness will simply drop and you will be able to live every moment of your life.

Leave a Reply

